Tampere and Tampere Region are applying to become European Capital of Culture 2026!


Capital of Culture application is carried out together as a region. Together with Tampere and the main partner Mänttä-Vilppula, there are already 15 municipalities from Tampere Region applying for the title: Vesilahti, Orivesi, Sastamala, Hämeenkyrö, Parkano, Pälkäne, Lempäälä, Nokia, Ikaalinen, Kangasala, Pirkkala, Valkeakoski, Virrat, Ruovesi and Ylöjärvi.

Capital of Culture – the objectives of our venture:

  1. To permanently improve the quality of life for us and our visitors.
  2. To remind us and the whole world to care for others more than ourselves.
  3. To promote touching and human presence in the midst of prevailing digitalisation.
  4. To express sharing joy, empathy, enjoyment and experiences.
  5. To increase cultural expression from Tampere and Pirkanmaa and to strengthen our international connections and visibility.
  6. To elevate the significance, appreciation and impact of cultural contributions from children, youth and adults.

How our project will progress

  • 30.3.2019 The opening ceremony of the Capital of Culture project at Tampere’s Hiedanranta
  • 2019 – 2020 Discussions, meeting, ideas, workshops, events
  • 2020 Submitting the joint application
  • 2026 A Finnish city will become a European Capital of Culture

You can find the official webpage of the venture here